High Plains Circuit

High Plains Competitions

The High Plains Brewer is an award given to an individual brewer from Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Iowa, South Dakota, North Dakota, or Minnesota who demonstrates outstanding and consistent brewing skills.

The award recipient is chosen based on performance in several regional competitions. Qualifying events are listed below. To be eligible, a brewer must belong to a club located in one of the aforementioned states. Points will be awarded as follows: 5 for 1st, 3 for 2nd, and 1 for a 3rd place finish in a qualifying competition. A brewer can only receive points for the highest-scoring beer per category.

High Plains Club-of-the-Year. All clubs from the above-mentioned states are eligible. Brewer’s points from those clubs are summed to produce the club points. Clubs whose members amass the most points as defined above will receive the Steven H. Ford traveling trophy

Qualifying Competitions Clubs hosting Qualifying events are required to notify the High Plains program administrator when and where their competition will be held, as well as the name and contact information for the competition coordinator. The competition coordinator is also responsible for ensuring their club remits the $25 trophy fee to the High Plain program administrator. See Competition reporting requirements.

Questions and comments should be directed to treasurer@kcbiermeisters.org.

High Plains Competitions 2023:

Minnesota Home Brewers Association & St. Paul Home Brewers ClubMinnesota Mashout (TBD)
Kansas City Bier MeistersKCBM (February)
Iowa Brewers UnionIBU Open (February)  
Lincoln LagersSower’s Cup (October)
Prairie Home CompanionsHoppy Halloween (October)
Fellowship of Oklahoma Ale MakersFOAM Cup (November)
St. Louis BrewsHappy Holidays (December)

Previous Brewer of the Year Winners:

YearHigh Plains Brewer of the Year Award
2022Eric Martin (KCBM)
2021Jamye & Cody Naramore (KCBM)
2020Jamye & Cody Naramore (KCBM)
2019Mike & Stephanie Butler (KCBM)
2018David Thompson (FOAM)
2017Marshall Van Tuyl (MoM)
2016Andrew Laidlaw & David Schumacher (MoM)
2015Tim Thomssen (Lagers)
2014Tim Thomssen (Lagers)
2013Tim Thomssen (Lagers)
2012Steve Cook (KCBM)
2011Dave & Michele Darity (FOAM)
2010John Fowler & Amy Satterlund (KCBM)
2009Mark Tanner
2008Mark Tanner
2007Ed Vandegrift
2006Al Boyce
2005Kris England and the Pete

Previous Club of the Year Winners:

YearHigh Plains Club of the Year
2022Kansas City Bier Meisters
2021Kansas City Bier Meisters
2020Kansas City Bier Meisters
2019Kansas City Bier Meisters
2018Kansas City Bier Meisters
2017Missouri Mashers
2016Kansas City Bier Meisters
2015Lincoln Lagers
2014Lincoln Lagers
2013Kansas City Bier Meisters
2012Fellowship of Oklahoma Ale Makers
2011Fellowship of Oklahoma Ale Makers
2010St Paul Homebrewers Club
2009Fellowship of Oklahoma Ale Makers
2008St Paul Homebrewers Club
2007St Paul Homebrewers Club
2006St Paul Homebrewers Club
2005St Paul Homebrewers Club